ORFEUS Core Participants

ORFEUS is funded and governed by Core Participants from European countries (see table below) with their representatives in the Board of Directors (BoD). The BoD is the governing body of the ORFEUS Foundation and takes the necessary decisions related to the Foundation, its objectives and activities. The BoD has power to:

  • Authorize strategy on behalf of the Organization;
  • Make rules or regulations for its management;
  • Create and discharge additional offices or special committees;
  • Select, employ or remove such of its officers, agents or employees;
  • Approve and terminate core participation and set participation fees;
  • Fill vacancies and approve participant rotation in ORFEUS committees;
  • Select the Secretary General;
  • Review every 4 years and select, when needed, the Secretariat;
  • Approve the annual reports of activities and work programme propositions;
  • Approve the annual financial report;
  • Approve the provisional budget;
  • Approve contracts with other organisations.

  • Country Core Participant
    Austria GeoSphere Austria
    Belgium Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO)
    Denmark Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland (GEUS)
    Finland University of Helsinki
    France Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
    Germany GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ)
    Greece Earthquake Planning and Protection Organization (EPPO)
    Italy Instituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV)
    Netherlands Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI)
    Norway University of Bergen (UiB)
    Portugal Instituto Portugues do Mare e da Atmosfera (IPMA)
    Romania National Institute for Earth Physics (NIEP/INFP)
    Sweden University of Uppsala
    Switzerland Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETH) - Swiss Seismological Service (SED)
    Turkey Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research Institute (KOERI)
    Turkey Disaster and Emergency Management Presidency (AFAD)
    United Kingdom British Geological Survey (BGS)