European Integrated Data Archive (EIDA)

EIDA, an initiative within ORFEUS, is a distributed data centre established to (a) securely archive seismic waveform data and related metadata, gathered by European research infrastructures, and (b) provide transparent access to the archives by the geosciences research communities.

EIDA nodes are data centres which collect and archive data from seismic networks deploying broad-band sensors, short period sensors, accelerometers, infrasound sensors and other geophysical instruments. Networks contributing data to EIDA are listed in the ORFEUS EIDA networklist. All data from the VEBSN at ORFEUS Data Center are available through EIDA.

Technically, EIDA is based on an underlying architecture developed by GFZ to provide transparent access to all nodes' data. Data within the distributed archives are accessible via the ArcLink protocol.

Latitude:      Longitude:  

EIDA nodes and additional services/data:

Currently 9 nodes are contributing their data to EIDA. Seven of them, called "primary nodes", have committed resources to ensure the EIDA operations and to support further developments. The region indicates the focus of operation for each node. Identical requests for open data to each EIDA nodes provide identical data. Each node may also provide unique, restricted data and additional services. Click on a node for detailed information on specific datasets and/or access tools.

KOERI has committed resources to build up an EIDA node (currently in progress) and to provide access to their archive (KO network, Turkey).

European-Mediterranean area (VEBSN)

European, Global, temporary deployments

France + Global temporary deployments

Italy, European-Mediterranean (MedNet)




France (volcanological observatories) + Global (GEOSCOPE)

Germany (BayernNetz)

© 2013