European Integrated Data Archive (EIDA): management and structure

To cope with new demands on data management as well as to further extend the services to the seismological community, ORFEUS revised its data archiving infrastructure and organization into a coordinated distributed data archive system. A major component of this is the formal establishment of the European Integrated waveform Data Archive (EIDA), officially formed in 2013.

EIDA is organized and managed by the EIDA Management Board (EMB), which is in effect an ORFEUS working group. Under the mandate of the ORFEUS Board of Directors and Executive Committee, the EMB is responsible for the management of EIDA. Each EIDA node is represented in the EMB. The ETC (EIDA Technical Commission) operates under the EMB and guarantees EIDA operations. The EMB and ETC continually addresses challenges such as efficient data management, content metadata, quality maintenance, provenance and access services in a distributed network of archives.

The current EIDA nodes are: ODC/ORFEUS, GEOFON/GFZ/Germany, SED/ETHZ/Switzerland, RESIF/INSU-CNRS/France, INGV/Italy, NIEP/Romania, BGR/Germany, IPGP/France and LMU/Germany. The seven Primary Nodes signed an MoU with ORFEUS in which they commit to providing continued access to the data in their archives. Data archives technically connected to the EIDA system as defined by the EMB, but have not signed a formal agreement with ORFEUS are termed Secondary Nodes. Secondary Nodes are supported by a Primary Node that guarantees their continued performance.

EIDA Management Board (EMB) members
  • John Clinton ETHZ (chair)
  • Klaus Stammler BGR
  • Winfried Hanka GFZ
  • Peter Danecek INGV
  • Reinoud Sleeman ODC
  • Helle Pedersen RESIF
  • Constantin Ionescu, NIEP

EIDA Technical Commission (ETC) members
  • Angelo Strollo GFZ (chair)
  • Matthias Hoffmann BGR
  • Stefan Heimers, Philippe Kaestli, Carlo Cauzzi ETHZ
  • Javier Quinteros, Andres Heinloo, Peter Evans GFZ
  • Valentino Lauciani, Andrea Bono, Massimo Fares INGV
  • Costanza Pardo IPGP
  • Luca Trani, Odysseus Galanis, Reinoud Sleeman ODC
  • Cristian Neagoe NIEP

European Data Centers willing to join EIDA should express their interest to the EIDA Management Board Chair.

© 2013